Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

The Tribute to DIMMU BORGIR

I thought all death metal band, or so called ‘satanic’ by some, are bad. Not everybody, I guess, and certainly not this band. Don’t worry, I won’t turn into face-painted dork who will act like weirdo, but this band really blows me away! Don’t look at their presence, but hear the music. The combination of blast-beats drumming, heavy guitar riffs mixed with classical tunes….it’s genius!! Just hope that this band will perform in Jakarta very, very soon, it’s worth the wait!

For the love of the band, I hereby show my ultimate tribute. The band that shook out the metal world, out of ordinary, and certainly possess the think-out-of-the-box attitude. Enjoy….

Dimmu Borgir (pronounced Dim-moo-bore-gear) is a black metal band from Norway. "Dimmu Borgir" means "Dark Cities" or "Dark Fortresses" in Icelandic and Old Norse; the name is derived from a volcanic formation found in Iceland, Dimmuborgir.


Dimmu Borgir started as a melodic black metal band in 1993. Formed by Shagrath, Silenoz, and Tjodalv, the band released an EP in 1994 entitled Inn I Evighetens Mørke ("Into The Darkness of Eternity" in English). This short EP sold out within weeks, and the band followed up with the 1994 full length album For All Tid. This album featured musical contributions by members of Dødheimsgard and Ved Buens Ende. The initial lineup consisted of Shagrath playing drums with Tjodalv on guitar and Silenoz covering vocals, however this changed before the release of Stormblåst (translates to "Storm Blown") on Cacophonous Records in 1996. Stormblåst received high praise from many melodic black metal fans, and is often regarded as a highlight of the band's career. It is also the last album which features all lyrics written and sung in Norwegian.

After Stormblåst, Dimmu Borgir's lineup took a sharp turn. Keyboardist Stian Aarstad left the band due to his obligation to serve in the Norwegian army, thus being unable to participate in the 1996 recording of Devil's Path. That period was also marked by the leave of their bassist Brynjard Tristan and the arrival of Nagash. Stian Aarstad returned for the recording of 1997's Enthrone Darkness Triumphant. While on tour to support the album, he had trouble attending rehearsals and being on tour, and was subsequently fired. Enthrone Darkness Triumphant was a huge success for the band, and was their first release signed to Nuclear Blast, a well-known German record label. The album was recorded in the Abyss Studios, owned by Hypocrisy's frontman Peter Tägtgren.

After the tour for Enthrone Darkness Triumphant, the band recruited new members Mustis on keyboards and Astennu on lead guitar, for Shagrath to concentrate on vocals. Dimmu Borgir's following full-length albums Spiritual Black Dimensions in 1999 and 2001's Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia, both met critical acclaim.

Despite regular video play on MTV2 and Fuse TV that their follow-up album would receive, the band has stated that they are not "commercially-oriented," and instead, they 'simply wish to spread their message to more people'. In 2003, Dimmu Borgir used their major record label financial leverage to record an album titled Death Cult Armageddon. Sections of the album were recorded with the Prague Philharmonic Orchestra to enhance the classical arrangements which have always augmented the band's style. In 2004, Dimmu Borgir headlined Ozzfest.

In 2005, the band did a complete re-recording of the Stormblåst album, featuring Hellhammer of Mayhem fame as the session drummer.

Dimmu Borgir's new album, In Sorte Diaboli, was released April 24, 2007. A special edition version comes in a boxed case with a DVD, backward lyrics and a mirror. The album artwork was released on February 14, 2007 on a promotional webpage for the album. This album features the drumming of Hellhammer (Mayhem), who had to leave the band in mid tour (2007) because of a neck injury, resulting in limited movement of his right arm. With the release of this album, Dimmu Borgir became the first black metal band with a number one album in their native country.



  • Rehearsal (1993)

Studio albums

  • For All Tid (1994)
  • Stormblåst (1996)
  • Enthrone Darkness Triumphant (1997)
  • Godless Savage Garden (1998)
  • Spiritual Black Dimensions (1999)
  • Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (2001)
  • Death Cult Armageddon (2003)
  • Stormblåst MMV (2005)
  • In Sorte Diaboli (2007)


  • Inn I Evighetens Mørke (1994)
  • Devil's Path (1996)
  • Sons of Satan Gather for Attack (1999)
  • split EP with Old Man's Child
  • True Kings of Norway (2000)
  • split with Emperor, Immortal, Ancient, and Arcturus
  • Alive in Torment (2001)
  • World Misanthropy (2002)


  • "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse" (2003)
  • "Vredesbyrd" (2003)
  • "The Serpentine Offering" (2007)
  • "The Sacrilegious Scorn" (2007)


Current Line-Up

  • Shagrath (Stian Thoresen) – vocals (1993–present)
  • Silenoz (Sven Atle Kopperud) – guitar (1993–present)
  • Mustis (Øyvind Mustaparta) – keyboards (1998–present)
  • ICS Vortex (Simen Hestnæs) – bass guitar, clean vocals (1999–present)
  • Galder (Thomas Rune Andersen) – Guitar (2000–present)
  • Tony Laureano – drums (session drummer) (2004–2005, 2007–present)

Former members

  • Stian Aarstad – keyboard (1993–1997)
  • Tjodalv (Kenneth Åkesson) – drums (1993–1999)
  • Brynjard Tristan (Ivar Tristan Lundsten) – bass guitar (1994–1996)
  • Nagash (Stian Arnesen) – bass guitar (1996–1999)
  • Kimberly Goss - keyboard (live) (1997–1998)
  • Astennu (Jamie Stinson) – guitar (1997–1999)
  • Aggressor (Carl-Michael Eide) – drums (live) (1997)
  • Nicholas Barker – drums (1999–2004)
  • Reno Kiilerich – drums (live) (2004)
  • Hellhammer (Jan Axel Blomberg) – drums (2005–2007)
  • Following the release of “Death Cult Armageddon”, the band's guitarists were interviewed by the major guitar publication "Guitar World." In that interview, the guitarists stated that they mainly used standard 6 string tuning. The guitarists also said they used standard 7 string guitars, but rarely. They commented that the heaviness of riffs and guitar/bass parts of their songs is attributed to the fact that they overdub four guitar tracks, and use three-fingered power chords.
  • Shagrath and Galder collaborated with childhood friend and Norwegian rapper Diaz in 2003. The song is titled "Mitt Terningkast," and was included on Diaz's "Velkommen Hjem Andres" album.
  • Their fame is acknowledged in the Metalocalypse episode "Go Forth And Die," where Nathan Explosion is seen working at 'Dimmu Burger'
  • Dimmu Borgir had two songs featured in the trailer for the Hellboy movie. “Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse” and “Eradication Instincts Defined”, the featured tracks, were off the album, Death Cult Armageddon.
  • Check out their website, www.dimmu-borgir.com.


Latest Month

April 2011
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Tiffany Chow